PDA

View Full Version : Mountain House theres gota be a better way?????

jelloitsalive
04-14-2012, 22:41
I was in walmart today and saw they had mountain house meals 5-6 dollars for only 400 calories..... Im a newbie planing on doing weekend hikes to me this just doesnt sound suffeciant for dinner after a long day of hiking..........DINNER RECOMENDATIONS ANYONE???????????

Northern Lights
04-14-2012, 23:18
Make your own meals and check out freezerbagcooking

leaftye
04-14-2012, 23:31
I was in walmart today and saw they had mountain house meals 5-6 dollars for only 400 calories..... Im a newbie planing on doing weekend hikes to me this just doesnt sound suffeciant for dinner after a long day of hiking..........DINNER RECOMENDATIONS ANYONE???????????

I'm impressed that you noticed the calories. It's amazing how many people don't. I bet that package said it had two servings, which makes it seems like a lot, but it's really a very little amount of food.

Northern Lights nailed it. You can also add things to it to add calories, like olive oil. Sometimes I'll sprinkle sunflower seeds on my meals.

Check out Dicentra's site and book for dehydrated meals that you can prepare at home and make on the trail using freezer bag cooking.

leaftye
04-14-2012, 23:31
Forgot the link:
http://www.onepanwonders.com/

pafarmboy
04-14-2012, 23:34
www.hawkvittles.com

RodentWhisperer
04-15-2012, 00:16
I'll +1.5 to the idea of freezer bag bag cooking-- try trailcooking.com .

To put this into perspective, when I hike with me wife, she's always happy to eat dishes I prepare for FBC. Why is that a big deal? She's a chef! :)

Bronk
04-15-2012, 00:55