WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Completely new Hiker here!

Hello all! I'm completely new at this and looking for the best place to start. Is there a thread(s) I should read first to get started? I don't want to ask redundant questions but I have so many! I've been hiking, if you could call it that, but never on long hikes. There are so many choices out there for everything that it is almost overwhelming. Any helpful starting hints or where to look is greatly appreciated.

Also my husband, ex-Army man, is wanting me to get an Alice pack for my backpack. Has anyone, civilian wise, used these and what's your take on them?

Thanks!
    Kase

Images

Alice is for humping not hiking! Way too heavy. Get your pack last. Welcome, check out the article section for best info. for new hikers.

Images

ALICE (pack) is designed to carry military gear. Civilian packs are designed to carry civilian gear. There are a lot of former (and even active) military folks here who are avid hikers. Virtually NONE would recommend ALICE for hiking.

Images

Quote Originally Posted by 4eyedbuzzard View Post
    ALICE (pack) is designed to carry military gear. Civilian packs are designed to carry civilian gear. There are a lot of former (and even active) military folks here who are avid hikers. Virtually NONE would recommend ALICE for hiking.
    I would add that if he is suggesting an ALICE as the pack, his other gear suggestions such as for sleeping bag, shelter, etc. may also not be the best (and definitely very heavy) for civilian hiking.

Get all your gear before the pack. Camp with it using whatever pack he may already have. Stay close to the car and get comfortable with your gear. Then once you have the details ironed out go get a pack you are comfortable with that your gear will fit in.

Section Hiker