WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Journal Entries

Default overly optimistic?

Hey anybody or everybody,
    I've been hiking for many years. I am 60 years old but very active. I work construction for a living as well as owning a restaurant. I work long and hard hours. I am one of those lucky people who has been blessed with a pretty strong body (for a pint sized 5'9"). I am planning a NOBO thru hike for march of 2015. Recently I have been doing day and section hikes with a full pack to get conditioned. I've been keeping track of my eating habits and mileage. It appears that I average close to 3 miles an hour when I hike. If I figure on 3 hours in the morning and 4 hours in the afternoon I estimate I can cover about 20 miles a day. Am I being to optimistic? I understand there will be zero days and unforeseen delays, but on an average day is 20 miles do-able? I want to average 120 miles a week. Not in a race, just planning.

For the first week or two, slow down and limit yourself to 8-12. The GA mountains are probably a good deal tougher than what you're used to training on. Then gradually ramp up the miles.

I'm 63 and last year (2013) hiked 1450 miles from GA to NY. I found the going very slow in GA & NC. My average speed was between 1.75 and 2 miles an hour. The ups & downs slowed me down quite a bit in the early part of my hike. Also, the NARO virus got me in Erwin, that made we feel weak for a week. (no pun intended.) Where I really lost time was family issues: a new grandchild, a 30 wedding anniversary and an engagement party. I think its easier for younger hikers to concentrate on hiking and nothing else. I am going to finish my hike from CT to Maine starting in May, hope to see you on the trail.