WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Swimming Holes and Cliff Jumping along the AT

I am relatively new to Whiteblaze, but I have gotten a ton of help by reading a lot of these threads and cannot thank you guys enough. I love the hiking community. I will be starting my own NOBO thru hike the first week of May, but before I leave, I was wondering if anyone could fill me in on the best swimming holes along the trail and more specifically, swimming holes with sweet cliffs to jump off (the ones with water below them lol)? Happy Hiking!

Default Close enough

Elk Falls, NC, aka Elk River Falls, is a short distance E of the AT and close to Jones Falls, just a very few miles nobo from US 19E. Appalachian State University students made the hour-long drive to Elk Falls for cliff-jumping and freelance partying in the 1970s. There have been a number of deaths at Elk Falls, where one must take 2-3 good running strides in order to gain distance from the cliff. It's something like 50-60' high and the plunge pool is around 100' across to the easy exit on the far side. AO

The 2nd or 3rd most cause of spinal cord injury in men 15 - 35 is cliff jumping. Do a good check of the pool, or risk turning up as a quad, even then !!!

Between the brain eating amoebas and the number of rattlesnakes I saw in the rivers last year, swimming is not high on my list of things to do on the AT.

Images

It would be rare for a hiker to spend time doing an activity off trail. Usually just too busy or tired. I guess i happens.
    Everything is in Walking Distance

Journal Entries

Quote Originally Posted by squeezebox View Post
    The 2nd or 3rd most cause of spinal cord injury in men 15 - 35 is cliff jumping. Do a good check of the pool, or risk turning up as a quad, even then !!!
    Or be over or under that age range

Images