WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Springer to Erwin (first timer)

I have never done an overnight trip backpacking before, but I am looking forward to this. I am starting hike around June 16th, I know it is not ideal time for a 4 to 5 week hike, but I am a teacher and that is my time off. Also, I live in Florida, so easiest and cheapest place for me to get to is Springer.

The only bag I have is 20 degree one which I assume will be way too much. Can I get by with only a fleece liner? I plan on stopping in Hot Springs for a night or two, but otherwise will be moving so long as weather/rain allows me to. It looks like I should be fine with 5 days of food with all the re-stocks along the way.

On arriving in Erwin, is it easier for me to try and get to Johnson City or Asheville. Looks like I can catch a bus home from either place. Seems Asheville may be a funnier place to hang around for a day or two. Will price of a ride to either be much different?

Also, I have never used a water filter before and am hoping I can get by with only tablets. Will this be an issue?

Thanks all!

Images

Mid June is fine. It'll be cooler in the mountains than in Florida, certainly. The 20F bag is likely way too much, but my one experience with a fleece blanket in the summer in the mountains is not one I'd care to repeat I'd try to find a 40-50F rated summer sleeping bag on sale somewhere. Something like the Kelty Cosmic is a nice choice, but there are plenty of $50-100 bags that will work.

You can get to either Asheville or JC from Erwin, Asheville is certainly a fun place to hang out. If you're into craft beer, do not miss Wicked Weed (you will thank me later.)

I use tablets only. If the water has lots of floaties I filter it through a bandana, then drop in the tablet.
    Ken B
    'Big Cranky'
    Our Long Trail journal