WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Default What ultra lite tent/shelter are you using

or wish you could use?

Just spent my 34th night in my Hexamid Twin and I love it. Still in perfect condition as well.
    HST/JMT August 2016
    TMB/Alps Sept 2015
    PCT Mile 0-857 - Apr/May 2015
    Foothills Trail Feb 2015
    Colorado Trail Aug 2014
    AT: Rockfish Gap to Boiling Springs 2014
    John Muir Trail Aug/Sept 2013

LT '79; AT '73-'14 in sections; Donating Member Kerosene's Avatar
    Images

My lightest go-to shelter is the zPacks Hexamid TwinTarp (without mesh when used for my Fall section hikes).
    GA←↕→ME: 1973 to 2014

Garlic
    Images

I don't know if the Tarptent Contrail qualifies as UL anymore at 27 oz, but I just replaced the one I've been using heavily for seven years and many thousands of trail miles. I was tempted by newer models with different features, but I was really glad to see Henry still makes the tried and true Contrail.
    "Throw a loaf of bread and a pound of tea in an old sack and jump over the back fence." John Muir on expedition planning

Tarptent Rainbow, 2007 vintage, not sure if that qualifies at 32 oz or so. (I call that light.) I can't report on its performance in hurricane conditions. Single-walled, so condensation can be a problem. Setup/takedown is a snap -- I use the stakes. In fair weather, it's awesome. Incredibly roomy for a solo tent.

Wanna-be hiker trash
    Images

Tarptent Double Rainbow. It's light enough to use solo but when I use it with a hiking partner (which I usually do) it ends up being around 20oz* per person for a fully enclosed shelter.

*Edit: Does anyone know if this year's double rainbow is heavier than previous ones? The site says that it is 41oz, but when I bought mine a couple years back I thought it was closer to two pounds.