WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Seeking Ultralight Advice

I am new to the Ultralight Scene(by new I mean void of ANY ultralight gear) and could use some good advice. Due to knee injuries sustained in the Gulf, I NEED to go ultralight on my bid for completion of the AT in 2016. I'm no stranger to packing/camping but new to long distance. I hope to come in with a base weight of 10 lbs but am unsure if this is realistic or even safe for that matter, for a green distance hiker....Thoughts?

Journal Entries

Easily doable.
    Do you have $2000 - 2500 for gear?

Knees need to be in good shape to go 2000 miles. Light weight wont cure that.

The more $$$, the lighter weight while giving up less.
    Last edited by MuddyWaters; 04-23-2015 at 18:42.

10lb baseweight for the AT is simple. If you can drop some coin on gear you can easily meet that weight goal and hike in style.

What MW said.. the more money you throw at gear, the lighter it gets, and the less you give up.

Figure out your budget for gear and get back to us.. Honestly starting off with NO gear isn't a bad thing at all. You've come to the right place.

Zpacks is a great gear company.

Arc Blast Backpack
    Duplex Tent
    20* Sleeping Bag
    Neo-Air Xlite Sleeping Pad

if only funds allowed.... I would buy that in a heartbeat.

Are you a ground dweller or hammock hanger?

My big 4 weighs 9 lbs, I could see dropping 3 maybe 4 lbs off that, maybe. But there's dry camp clothes 1st aide kit. foot care. boiling water. rain gear, cold weather gear. bug netting. phone, maps. I could lie to myself and carry my camera around my neck and not count it in pack wt.