WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default "New" Hiker Question

I am a brand new user here and am getting into hiking (backpacking) for the first time in my adult life. I have had some backpacking experience in my younger days, but never the interest that has recently kindled. I would like to thru-hike the AT next summer and am blessed to be in a position to do so, but need substantial help with planning just how to do it. I need to get a clue about what to bring, where to stay on the trail while hiking, trail rules, etc., etc., and etc.

Pack weight is one concern. I have recently upgraded my backpacking gear to newer stuff, some of which is considered "ultra light", but still come to 37 pounds of pack weight including about 10 pounds of water. My tent is a 2-person tent, very light, so I see room for only a small savings there (not substantial). Sleeping bag is also extremely light. Not sure where the weight is adding up except for water, sunscreen/bug repellent/bear spray (LOL) that I carry on short hikes close to home. My pack may be another source of weight (Osprey 58 liter.)

Water reservoir is a 3L bag, and I carry another liter in 2 bottles.

Anyhow...I'll continue looking through the forums here for some answers, but would appreciate any suggestions others are willing to post here. Thanks in advance.

So that means 27 pounds without water. Which is respectable for just starting out and just 10-15 years ago would be considered light ish. On the AT or anywhere in the southern Appalachians you would not need to cary that much water and I'd bet you are more in the ballpark than you think you are but you will need to go out for a one to two week shake down cruise to figure out what your personal style will be.