WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    Journal Entries

Default Air mattress vs UQ in terms of warmth

All else aside, can an air mattress be as warm as an UQ?

Am going to start carrying both for a couple of months to test, and interested in your experiences.

Am prepping for some trips where a night or two on the ground may be necessary.

Thanks!
    hikers gonna hike

I have limited hammock experience but from that I found a mat inside a hammock doesn't work very well. It's just not the right shape. You also need a side entry hammock, a bottom entry like some of the Hennesys are impossible.

I'm not sure how effective an air mattress like a neo-air would be in a hammock. I have a feeling it wouldn't be too good. A closed cell foam would be better and you could shape the top and bottom edges to better conform to the shape of the hammock.
    Follow slogoen on Instagram.

I used a pad for quite awhile with my Double Layer hammock to "hold" the pad. I don't feel the air mattress can be as warm as a quilt. Most that try a quilt don't go back. I finally bit the bullet and purchased one and now the pad is really obsolete (except for the smokies). The major reason is that without modifications, a person will "Shift" off of the pad and constantly battle cold spots. With an underquilt, it can be "hooked" on the shoulders and will more easily stay in place matching the angle of lay in a hammock. It forms a better system for taking advantage of the down feathers and fluff of the quilt. I can actually feel the heat difference between no insulation, a pad, and most of all the TQ.
    "gbolt" on the Trail

I am Third

We are here to help one another along life's journey. Keep the Faith!

YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCik...NPHW7vu3vhRBGA

Son Driven
    Journal Entries

UC will never loose any air.

Images