Default Long or Short Hair?!

To chop it all off, or to not chop it all off? That is the question.

I have been growing out my hair for a few months now to get it all one length so I can throw it up, but I'm starting to think just cutting it all off would be the way to go? Are there some ladies out there with past experience that can shed some light on this topic for me?

This is such a personal choice that I hesitate to provide advice. What do you want? Will cutting off your hair be traumatic to you? It is for some people.

I've had shortish hair since 2007 because it is so easy to wash, dry, and be on my way. That's a point in its favor in terms of backpacking. It also leaves my neck cold. That's a point against.

Definitely your choice! Personally I would much rather deal with the hassle (which isn't bad) of 6 months of long hair instead of years of short hair waiting for it to grow back out.

my hair is baby-fine so I will be chopping it off just enough to keep it off my neck but still pull it back. I don't want to hassle with a hairbrush tbh

Images

I've had all lengths of hair at some point during all my hiking/backpacking experiences. By far, the easiest was and is long hair. I had long hair on my AT thru last year. Short hair leaves a cold neck, as noted above, and if it is thick is always wet and sweaty. At least that's how it works for me due to my hair type. Short to medium length hair for me always looks like a mess, too, again probably just hair type (thick and wavy). The long hair was easy, just comb it out, put it in a pony tail, braid it and put an elastic in the end. Done. The braid helps to keep the hair from getting tangled and knotted, which can happen when it is in contact with the top of the pack. A bun works well, too, especially when it is hot and humid. I only carried a width tooth comb and the elastics and washed my hair about once a week or so in town.
    LT 2013, AT NOBO 2015, MSGT 2016, PCT 2017/2018