WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default The Camino Santiago

I would like peoples opinions on this trail, if they have hiked it etc

I will have an opportunity to hike between 1-2 weeks in Spain in 2018 and would like to know what section people would suggest if not able to hike the entire thing. This is a pretty general "what you have to say" about the topic of the Camino De Santiago.
    Trail Miles: 4,980.5
    AT Map 1: Complete 2013-2021
    Sheltowee Trace: Complete 2020-2023
    Pinhoti Trail: Complete 2023-2024
    Foothills Trail: 47.9
    AT Map 2: 279.4
    BMT: 52.7
    CDT: 85.4

Images

I have no experience GM, but I have been looking too. I have been leaning towards 'The Portuguese Way' I figured on starting from Porto to keep the time commitment down. From Santiago I thought I would continue the walk to Finisterre. Should be about two full weeks total, mostly flat walking, but culturally interesting. I'm not doing it this year, but it is on my radar. Would love to here about whatever hike you end up doing.

Scott

Quote Originally Posted by imscotty View Post
    but culturally interesting.

Scott
    This is my interest point. The culture of somewhere other than east coast or US deserts. I want to hike in truly old country, on someone else's turf, and hopefully experience the same hospitality I have on the first half of my AT journey. I want to debunk that "southern hospitality" can only be found in the south, and that it spreads through many cultures. And I want to fill my camelback up with wine

Hey Gambit

I hiked it in May last year and it's what made me fall in love with long distance hiking and made me want to do the AT. The people are great, the alburgues are fun (you'll have a love hate relationship with them