WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Which hammock?

Default Which hammock?

Which hammock?
    I am fairly new and would like opinions or suggestions.

BIG can you've opened here. :-)

I've used a Hennessey - didn't care for the bottom entry, although I liked the concept.
    I've had an ENO - great hammock, didn't like the suspension system. Easy to swap out with another system - Dutchgear.com :-)
    I love my BlackBird by warbonnetoutdoors. My go to, all time favorite. I prefer the whoopie sling suspension, with Dutch buckle and clips.

short and simple, I hope. Have fun

Hi there pickle,
    hubcap isn't exaggerating. HUGE can,

Understand that, like many things, hammocks are very subjective.

I am a hammock user, and have been for about a decade now. I am not an expert, internet or otherwise...

The website hubcap mentions is actually dutchwaregear.com. Fantastic reputation, real quality stuff, possibly the most "hammock stuff" in one place on the net, and very reasonably priced.

I'd recommend checking out hammockforums.net. Tons, and tons of info there

I'd further say, if you can locate a "group hang", done quite a lot via hammock forums, to go to one. I say that because it is likely the best place for you to go and get "hands on" experience with a number of different hammocks, hammock set-ups, hammock related gear, etc...
    If you check out the HF website, you'll find that info under "outings", and then "hangouts, campouts, and trip planning" Kentucky is under the "southeast" sub-forum.

You may even be able to find someone on HF who lives near you, who may have some hammocks you can check out in person - before you spend your money.