WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Rainfly condensation?

I'm relatively new to sleeping in a tent with a rainfly. I'm amazed at how much condensation builds up overnight. How do you or do you get rid of it before packing it away for the day's hike?

Journal Entries

Well, in decent weather you need to ventillate as much as possible to reduce it.
    Wipe down with bandana, will take care of some
    In most cases, put in outside of pack and air out in sun to dry while taking break
    Or just dont worry about it

You don't. Packing up a condensated or saturated tent is all part of the game. What's an extra lb of water weight? In the next camp set up and perhaps the tent will dry. Or not. Eventually maybe by Day 3 or 5 the thing will be dry if the rain stops or conditions are better.

One night you will have condensation, the next night everything will be bone dry. If you hanker to pack up a dry tent every morning you'd never leave camp.

Images

http://windowoutdoors.com/WindowOutd...0Radiation.htm

Take some time to read over that link, as condensation on tents isnt really just about ventilation --

Keeping the fabric warm is important. Net loss of infrared radiation (IR) at night causes fabric temperature to drop below the air temperature and leads to condensation. Clouds, wind, and staying beneath trees all help with keeping the fabric from dropping below ambient temperature. Clouds and tree branches send IR radiation back toward the fabric, lessening the radiation imbalance. Wind increases convection heat transfer thereby keeping the fabric near the air temperature. The lesser amounts of condensation on windy nights have more to do with the wind keeping the fabric near air temperature rather than ventilating moisture, although both are important.