WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Talk to me about Stealth Camping

I'm going to be NOBO

Are there specific sites?
    Or is it just set up where you feel like?

I apologize, I am new to a lot of this.
    **2020 NOBO**

Anywhere you see that will hold you and your tent. Unless it is off limits to camping.

Garlic
    Images

One definition of stealth camping implies trepassing or camping illegally. Hopefully we're talking about merely hiding from sight in allowable areas.

In the southern Appalachians, I usually found it exceedingly easy to find prime camp sites on public land just out of sight of the trail. In the hardwood forests with inches of leaf duff, you don't need a pad, and you often have to dig a pit down to mineral soil to get tent stakes to hold. It gets harder, sometimes very hard, in New England.
    "Throw a loaf of bread and a pound of tea in an old sack and jump over the back fence." John Muir on expedition planning

Wanna-be hiker trash
    Images

Just a quick head's up. The term "steath camping" has a disputed definition. Some people, including myself think it means camping in a way that has zero/near zero impact at an area that is not an established site. Others use the term to mean camping illegally. I assume you are referring to the first meaning.
    Colorless green ideas sleep furiously.

Stealth camping is a pass/fail endeavor. If no one on trail can tell you are there when you are there and no one standing where you camped can tell you camped there after you've left you have passed. Anything else is just camping.
    “The man who goes alone can start today; but he who travels with another must wait until that other is ready...”~Henry David Thoreau

http://lesstraveledby.net
    YouTube Channel
    Trailspace Reviews

Journal Entries