WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Not so lightweight pct gear list

Columbia down jacket - 15oz
    Thermometer - 0.7oz
    Spork and knife - 0.7oz
    Darn tough socks (extra pair) - 2.9oz
    Extra underwear - 2.1oz
    Sawyer squeeze - 6.5oz
    Vintage reí zero degree bag - 48.6 oz
    Shamagh (giant middle eastern bandana) - 5.8oz
    Thermarest sleeping pad - 12.9oz
    Black diamond headlight - 3.0oz
    Chapstick - 0.3oz
    Compass - 0.8oz
    Suntactics solar charger - 7.5oz
    Fixed blade knife - 3.0oz
    Paracord - 3.2oz
    Camelback bladder - 6.7oz
    Vintage reí external frame pack - 67.3 oz
    Jetboil - 13.9oz
    Mountain hardware gloves - 7.1oz
    Colombia beanie - 4.8oz
    Helium ii - 6.5oz

I'm new to whiteblaze and am planning a thru hike of the pct this summer as I just graduated high school this last summer and see this as my only chance at having the time and money for a thru hike (I've been working since I graduated). I'm also new to lightweight backpacking as I've been using my fathers vintage gear and wonder what you guys think of my gear list, also I have yet to get my tent but I plan on getting a big Agnes fly creek ul2.

Lose the heavy darn tough socks. Mine weigh half of yours
    Leave the thermometer at home
    Lose the Spork and knife and trade them for a long handled spoon
    trade the Sawyer squeeze for a Sawyer mini
    The 0° bag sounds a bit over-the-top. Could you save weight using a 20° bag and sleep in your warm clothes?
    I don't see anything on your list that the solar charger would charge…??
    Lose the fixed blade knife for a folder that weighs less than 1 ounce with a 2 inch blade
    Your beanie and gloves are ridiculously heavy… Reconsider both of those
    Through the external frame pack away… PM mefor a "Jesus saves"