WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Thread: Which pack

Default Which pack

Hi, I'm a somewhat beginner hiker, I've done a few 6 day trips in Oklahoma and The Leuopold Wilderness, but I have outgrown my old external frame. The only newer pack that I have any experience with is the Mars by REI. As I am trying to get back into hiking, I want to know what some good packs to look at are.

As of now I have been suggested and the Mars and the Baltoro, but I have read about the plastic insert on the Baltoro breaking. The pack will be primarily used for 3 day excursions with the occasional 5+ day outing. I typically avoid hiking in winter.

BTW, I am looking exclusively at internal framed packs, after my last experience with my external I decided it that it was not the right design for me to be using.

Any and all help appreciated.

Hey there Taildragger!
    You are going to get some great suggestions on packs, but for my money, the Osprey Aether-60 is a great pack. I can destroy any piece of gear made, but my Osprey is still going strong! Happy Hiking!

Just Jim

Images

Default Packs

I carry a Golite Perspective and I love it. Unfortunately, Golite completely reworked its line this year and the Perspective is gone. If I were buying now, I would look at the Gregory Z55, the Granite Gear Nimbus Meridian, and the Golite Quest.

Rainman

Now I see the secret of the making of the best persons,
    It is to grow in the open air and to eat and sleep with the earth.

- Walt Whitman: Leaves of Grass; Song of the Open Road.

Images

I love me some Granite Gear Vapor Trail... omni-use

Taildragger,