WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Good Multitool?

Images

Default Good Multitool?

Hi,

I'm a newbie and am at least a year or 2 from attempting the great AT, so I wanted to do a few days here and there to get used to it all (Harriman/Bear Mountain area). I was wondering if you could recommend a good multi-tool for the trail. I know some people take a singlebladed knife or small Swiss Army type tool. I know a few hikers that swear by the Leatherman Micra (apparently, the full size leatherman is quite heavy).

Any thought?

Thanks!!

Images

I really like the Leatherman Micra.
    SGT Rock
    http://hikinghq.net

My 2008 Trail Journal of the BMT/AT

BMT Thru-Hikers' Guide
    -----------------------------------------

NO SNIVELING

Images

Quote Originally Posted by SGT Rock View Post
    I really like the Leatherman Micra.
    Believe it or not, the most effective is the tiny Swiss knife with just a blade and a file/screwdriver. If you're carrying a minimum of gear, that's all you need.

If you're carrying much more that needs repair, and you know you can do the repairs, a Micra is useful.

TW
    "Thank God! there is always a Land of Beyond, For us who are true to the trail..." --- Robert Service

Images

Well I sort of disagree. In a move to go lighter and smaller I got one of those. After numerous hikes I miss the slightly (but not by much) larger blade and much better set of scissors that were on my micra.
    SGT Rock
    http://hikinghq.net

My 2008 Trail Journal of the BMT/AT

BMT Thru-Hikers' Guide
    -----------------------------------------

NO SNIVELING

What's the need? Do u have line to cut? - bring a small toe clippers. Do u have a bear to fight? - bring a walking stick that the bear will mistake for a rifle.

Images

Quote Originally Posted by SGT Rock View Post