WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Thread: Trail Name?

Images

Default Trail Name?

Just curious...I'm new to this and I keep hearing the term trail name. Do people determine this for themselves or are they "dubbed" a certain nickname?

Thanks.

Section Hiking Knucklehead Hooch's Avatar
    Images

A little bit of both. Some people are given their trail names by others or stumble acrossa trail name that they beleive to ge a good fit while hiking. Others get a trail name beforehand. It just depends on the person. There's plenty of debate as to whether or not you should get a trail name before hiking some of the AT or not. And I'm not gonna get into that one.
    "If you play a Nicleback song backwards, you'll hear messages from the devil. Even worse, if you play it forward, you'll hear Nickleback." - Dave Grohl

Images

I dubbed myself then got renamed by last years Nobo's in NC during April. I would introduce my Dog Chief and say I was Chief's Daddy. I believe Skip said "Hey ChiefDaddy" back at me and it stuck. I never would have guess it before hand for sure.

Quote Originally Posted by Sallie8998 View Post
    Just curious...I'm new to this and I keep hearing the term trail name. Do people determine this for themselves or are they "dubbed" a certain nickname?

Thanks.
    Mine was given to me at Hawk Mountain Shelter several years back and it has stuck down through the years. There was approximately 20 people at the shelter that night and we were introducing ourselves and when it came my time and I gave my name, someone yelled out "Rowdy" an so it is.

Images

Also, some change their trail names often, or get it changed by others, while some like/insist on keeping their favorite trail name forever. Some names are given by others, some chosen by oneself.

Images

Quote Originally Posted by Summit View Post