WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Rain shorts/skirt

I am looking for feedback concerning an idea about raingear. I will overheat and sweat out in rain pants due to lack of ventilation. I have seen the rainskirt, I believe it is made from backpackinglight or something like that, $25. But I already own a pair of rain pants, RedHead Thunderlight, $20 Bass Pro Shops. I was thinking about cutting them into a pair of shorts. I could wear them over my hiking shorts, or just wear the "rain shorts" instead of my hiking shorts. They have very wide legs, so there should be plenty of ventilation. Has anyone ever done this? What was your experience? Also, since I don't sew, I was thinking about using a threadless stitch product. It is a liquid that is spread on the material, and then you just fold the hem. I have no experience with such products. If anyone has used this type of product to hem a garment I would appreciate your opinion also. Thanks for you input.

Images

Sounds like a great idea. I may have to do that with an old pair of rain pants myself.

Though my personal preference has been for the trash bag rain kilt -- cheap, easy, and quick.
    Ken B
    'Big Cranky'
    Our Long Trail journal

A type of ventilated rain wear for the legs does come in useful on the AT.

My simple solution was a simple fifteen-cent Hefty Cinch sack with the bottom cut open. The drawstring lets you adjust the waist.

It proved enormously useful, if you can get past the "bag lady" comments from your waggish companions.
    ;-)

The positives - the Cinch Sack's extremely cheap, lightweight, well-vented and versatile. It also serves as a wind shield when you sit and cook or rest, as well as a dry spot to sit on on a rainy day, and a dry-spot "doormat" for kneeling in front of your tent. Can also go under the tent floor for protection on sketchy campsites.