WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Unhappy Gear Question-fusteration

Hi,
    I am a newbie to the site and I am hoping you all can help me out with my gear issue......

I can't fit my sleeping bag into my pack. I have tried several different bags with packs, coleman, etc and by the time it's all stuffed in my pack, I have no room for anything else, even with a compression bag. And not only that, it's pulling, pushing, tugging (swearing and cursing in between), jumping up and down and sitting on the pack to get it all squished in there....

So, many times I have opted out of bringing the bag with me just because of all the energy used to get it in the pack, but now I am wanting to do some winter hiking (I am getting ready for my thru-hike in 2011) and need to bring a bag with me. What am I doing wrong????? As I am sure it is user error!!! Help me out please!!!!

Thanks!

what kind of sleeping bag....and what kind of pack are u using???
    You don't have a soul. You are a Soul. You have a body.

You sound like a candidate for a new down bag.

I used to have the same problem in summer, when I tried to get by with a daypack because my regular backpack was just two darned heavy. I used a fanny pack as a front pack. Wasn't much lighter at the end of the day. Finally paid $100 for a Jam2 which solved most of my problems. Anyhow, you need either a bigger pack, or a smaller bag, or you need to ditch some of the rest of your crap.

I have a UL pack that carries 3100ci and I use it in winter.
    Its volume gets used up roughly as follows:
    800ci for my 72"x28"x0.375" blue foam pad
    800ci for my sleeping bag and bivy sack
    800ci for my food bag
    700ci for my extra fleece layers and odds and sods box.