WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Hiking in the rain

So me and my buddy have a hike planned for next weekend (Nov. 13-15) from Hughes gap to 19E. Based on weather.com's 10 day forecast for Elk Park (the closest town I could find near that section of the trail) there is a 30% chance of rain on day one, a 60% chance on day 2 and a 40% chance on day 3. The forecst for Bakersville is basically the same. I have no experience hiking in the rain, but I imagine it is pretty miserable. I'm sure some of you guys have hiked in rainy nasty weather. What was your take on it? We are thinking about postponing the trip to the weekend after. What would you do?

I've hiked in the rain many times. I found that the best way to deal with the rain is to get into town before it starts so the rooms aren't all taken. Then I find a restaurant where I can sip hot coffee and watch the wet, hang dog hikers come in from the trail.

Day 1 - Get Wet
    Day 2 - Get Used to it
    Day 3 - Enjoy the quiet solitude rain brings to the woods, and press on.

somebody once said.... (ultralightbackpacker.com quoted them, I believe) "A bad day in the woods is better than any day in the office."

Quote Originally Posted by the dragon View Post
    So me and my buddy have a hike planned for next weekend (Nov. 13-15) from Hughes gap to 19E. Based on weather.com's 10 day forecast for Elk Park (the closest town I could find near that section of the trail) there is a 30% chance of rain on day one, a 60% chance on day 2 and a 40% chance on day 3. The forecst for Bakersville is basically the same. I have no experience hiking in the rain, but I imagine it is pretty miserable. I'm sure some of you guys have hiked in rainy nasty weather. What was your take on it? We are thinking about postponing the trip to the weekend after. What would you do?