WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default How do you enter a dry tent when your clothing is rain soaked?

I've been camping and hiking for a few years, but only recently had to deal with this issue... I did some car camping with a group, we did a 10 mile dayhike and got soaked during the last 3 hours. It was still raining heavily when we arrived back at the campsite. The only dry place I had to change clothes was in my tent, and I did not want to get my sleeping bag wet, or the other stuff inside of my tent.

Fortunately for me, I was in a 2 person tent and slid my mat and bag over to the far side, so when I came in and sat down it was on the bare tent floor, and not my sleeping bag. As I took my wet clothing off I put it outside under the vestibule. After putting my dry stuff on, I wiped up the water on the floor with a packtowel.

If I had been camping with my wife, we would have had both pads and sleeping bags laid out, and I would have ended up sitting on my sleeping bag and getting it wet.

Any tricks for avoiding this, besides not camping in the rain?

with a case of blind faith
    Images

Punch everything over to the side & tag team.

Either push everything over to the side before entering or strip down outside and enjoy a free shower before entering the tent... Quickly towel off as you slide through the vestibule and into the tent...

Personally, I carry a small tarp that I fly over the doorway to provide a dry place to dress and cook... Sure its extra weight, but it's backpacking, it's not supposed to be easy...

i would just deal with the inevitable dampness. so long as you can get under shelter, change clothes, and not get sleeping bag or pad soaked, you should be fine.