WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Trimming the Weight of My Pack

I was wondering what things can be removed from my pack (like excess straps) to make it a little lighter. I have a North Face Terra 60 and am looking to make it as light as possible. I don't have the money to buy a new one (i'm a college student). How can I modify my pack to make it lighter?

Journal Entries
    Images

You can probably remove the top lid.

See you on the trail,
    mt squid

some observations

Feathered friend to all. Penguin's Avatar

just a thought, but maybe if you get straight A's, you could ask your parents for a lighter pack as a reward. Or just cut other items weight that you haven't bought yet, maybe go a little lighter on food, or don't carry useless stuff with you. A 60 liter pack should never be more then about 2/3 full im guessing. Remember Its not your gear that determines a successful hike, it's a positive attitude

Sell it on ebay then make your own.

http://www.questoutfitters.com/patte...ITE%20BACKPACK

I dropped a couple of pounds with this pack. For under $40 you'll probably come out ahead

On The same note as Tyler's suggestion, you could get one of the Ray Jardine do it yourself packs. I am nearly finished with one (just the waist belt to go) and am coming in under 10oz.

http://www.rayjardine.com/ray-way/Ba...-Kit/index.htm

Images

buy a $20 scale at walmart and start weighing all of your stuff. you'll soon start leaving things at home like excessive stuff sacks, covers for steripens, extra batteries, etc. this was the best investment i made to help me lose serious weight off my pack...
    " It's what people know about themselves inside that makes 'em afraid." ~Clint Eastwood, High Plains Drifter

Quote Originally Posted by Wags View Post