WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
    Images

Default My real bear encounter at the Priest shelter

I have been backpacking since 1973 and in all that time I have only seen 2 bears. Well that number is now 3. Sunday May 9 I tented with my wife in front of the Priest shelter about 40 feet just to the north. A family with 4 small children were in the shelter and there was 1 thru hiker and his friend visiting. At 12:20 my wife keeps saying something is outside the tent, it is big, it is breathing hard, she shoves me to full awake and says look outside. I find my head light and unzip the tent and shine the light around, A very large bear is 10 feet from the shelter and just behind it, it stops turns and looks right at me, then lifts its nose. Now my heart is racing, I do not even carry a knife, but I do pack a baggie with firecrackers, so I rummage around and find them and light 3 or 4 and then one goes pop. Then another. I figure the loud sound will scare the bear away. I shine the light around and only see camper and dog eyes in the shelter. After a long time I settle down and go back to sleep. At 4 am I feel a nudge, and a long blow just a few inches from my ear. I have the light still in my hand and I pop it on and the bear has its head under the rain fly pressing against the tent screen up against my head. It is as large as a basket ball and my wife screams roar, I was frozen stiff. My heart racing beyond belief. The bear just pulled back and disappeared. I must say I did not think I would be so scared, but I was petrified beyond my own belief. I did have a half a York peppermint Pattie in the side pocket of the tent, it is the only thing I can think he was after. I did see the family toss all there left over mac and cheese and oatmeal behind the shelter, then they did hang there food. ?? In the morning they