WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Black Bears Kill Woman in Canada

Black Bears, not Grizzlies (Brown)

http://www.vancouversun.com/technolo...907/story.html

Actually it seems as though only one bear killed the person, but they shot 4 suspects.

It is interesting that the vast majority of black bear attacks seem to be in the colder climates, especially Canada. I'm no expert, but I wonder how much the cold winters play into this, i.e. bears feeling the pressure to fatten up for a long winter. Of the victims in the south many are just little kids or infants.

Images

That is sad for the woman and the bears

Quote Originally Posted by john gault View Post
    It is interesting that the vast majority of black bear attacks seem to be in the colder climates, especially Canada. I'm no expert, but I wonder how much the cold winters play into this, i.e. bears feeling the pressure to fatten up for a long winter.
    I treat Canadian black bears more like grizzlies. It's almost like a different species. On the AT I sleep with my food. I would not do that in Canada.
    Fear ridges that are depicted as flat lines on a profile map.

Actually it seems as though only one bear killed the person, but they shot 4 suspects.

It is interesting that the vast majority of black bear attacks seem to be in the colder climates, especially Canada. I'm no expert, but I wonder how much the cold winters play into this, i.e. bears feeling the pressure to fatten up for a long winter. Of the victims in the south many are just little kids or infants.
    Keyword "seem". If anything it's probably because there's more bears up north. If you look at this chart most attacks are in the summer months, or when there's more people.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of..._North_America

Quote Originally Posted by Sly View Post