WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Images

Default Mountain House theres gota be a better way?????

I was in walmart today and saw they had mountain house meals 5-6 dollars for only 400 calories..... Im a newbie planing on doing weekend hikes to me this just doesnt sound suffeciant for dinner after a long day of hiking..........DINNER RECOMENDATIONS ANYONE???????????
    Green One Each

Registered User Northern Lights's Avatar
    Images

Make your own meals and check out freezerbagcooking

Images

Quote Originally Posted by jelloitsalive View Post
    I was in walmart today and saw they had mountain house meals 5-6 dollars for only 400 calories..... Im a newbie planing on doing weekend hikes to me this just doesnt sound suffeciant for dinner after a long day of hiking..........DINNER RECOMENDATIONS ANYONE???????????
    I'm impressed that you noticed the calories. It's amazing how many people don't. I bet that package said it had two servings, which makes it seems like a lot, but it's really a very little amount of food.

Northern Lights nailed it. You can also add things to it to add calories, like olive oil. Sometimes I'll sprinkle sunflower seeds on my meals.

Check out Dicentra's site and book for dehydrated meals that you can prepare at home and make on the trail using freezer bag cooking.

I'll +1.5 to the idea of freezer bag bag cooking-- try trailcooking.com .

To put this into perspective, when I hike with me wife, she's always happy to eat dishes I prepare for FBC. Why is that a big deal? She's a chef!
    "We can no longer live as rats. We know too much." -- Nicodemus