WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Need help on sleeping options

Ok me and a friend are planning a thru-hike for 2014 of the trail, and are planning on getting all gear by this summer and doing a week or 2 gear check first. Now I know lots of people just pitch tarps cause obviously weight is a huge issure but can I get away with taking an actual tent/bug net? One of my main concerns is ticks being a problem with certain desieses and some area's have poiseness snakes in the area. It's just one of those things where i'd be able to sleep easier if i knew a snake could wiggle through the corner of my tarp and pose a problem. Can I get some input/opinions on this since i'm currently a noob to planning a trip of this magnitude. Right now I'm looking a REI bug hut 2 person hut weight 2lbs 14 oz (most likely the 2 of us would switch off carrying it). If i'm posting this is the wrong section i'll move it as well since i wasnt sure where this should really go

Found the sleeping section if someone could tell me how to remove this would be appreciated

Your post is fine here. First off, I would suggest you and your buddy both carrying your own shelter (whether its a tarp, tent, or hammock). Chances are you will not (want to) stay together every night of a thru hike. Look at some of the 1 person tents that REI has to offer - the REI Quarter Dome, the MSR Hubba, Big Agnes Fly Creek, etc. Then take a look at some of the single wall options such as Tarptents, Six Moon Designs, Lightheart Gear, etc. to see if something like that appeals to you. I've never used a hammock on the trail myself, but some people try that and never go back to sleeping on the ground. A little research will go along way towards finding the right option for you and your buddy.