WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Section hiker newbie

Greetings all.

I hope I am putting this in the right are, please move/remove if not.

I've been trolling around looking at the wealth of info on this site for the past few weeks.

I'm a newbie who will be attempting to section hike a little for some of the summer. I live in Central PA and am currently thinking of starting near Boiling Springs, PA and heading south. My start date is around June 1st and plan to hike for about a month or so. My main agenda is a comfortable hike where I can enjoy as many sunrises and sunsets as possible. I have no destination in mind and don't plan to hike too many miles a day (10?). I'm a big guy with some bad knees and am searching for advise.

Is Boiling Springs a good place to start heading south?

Is there a better place for a newbie to start near central PA?

I'd like to start near my home and am hoping my wife and boys will join me for a week at the end of June. Any recommendations on a place for them to join me for a week along the trail? They are all in great shape and we all would be in our hammocks. I'd like to arrange my start location to coincide with them joining me if possible.

Thanx tons for any advice!
    TRU ...

boiling springs is a fine place to start. have them meet you at the beginning of Shenandoah national park

Thanx for the advice! I'll check it out!

TRU ...

Images

Good luck............I started my section hike years ago from Boiling Springs, headed North = Rocky

South is tons easier.........no rocks. I think that it is about 100 miles to Harper's Ferry.

PA in the summer can be rough water-supply wise.