WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

MEGA '11, LT '09,'13
    Images

Default HELP! - Top baffle of down quilt void of down

I have a Warbonnet Mamba and after considerable use (AT thru, bunch of overnighters), the down has nearly disappeared from the top baffle of the quilt, the area which surround my head or neck when the quilt is draped over me. This started while on my thru-hike, but has only gotten worse to the point of nearly no down in this area.

Ive tried hanging the quilt by the footbox and working the down from the sides and the footbox with my hands to obtain even loft throughout with no long-term avail. (it will work for a day maybe, but the down settles away again) Ive also tried putting the quilt in a large dryer on zero to low heat to fluff the down and hopefully redistributed the down throughout the quilt, namely at the top baffle, also with no long-term avail.

Question for all you DIYers: I am considering sewing a summer down quilt from a kit and stuffing the extra down in the top baffle, then sewing some part of the baffle to ensure that the down can't escape from the top area. Will this be necessary, or can I open the seams and redistribute the down and resew the baffles to stop the escape of the down instead of just adding more? Could this be fixed by a simple washing of the down (I'm sure it's dirty )

Also, any recommendations for quilt kits? Considering the thru-hiker kit.. Might it be cheaper to gather my own materials (down, synthetic material, etc) and design my own quilt? Any suggestions for other retailers? Thanks in advance for any help/suggestions. Cheers, Phenix

Journal Entries
    Images

Make a small cut on the side stuff it and hand sew it up.. can't be hard... Hammock forum may have down to sell. or scavenge an old bag.