WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default GA to NC and Smokey Mountain Sections questions

Good Afternoon. My name is John. I am a teacher living in Alaska but have always wanted to section hike the AT (would love to thru-hike but that isn't happening with my family and financial situation). This summer I will be in NC for a cousin's wedding. I plan on taking three of my nephews and hiking SB from NC (they live in Brevard so the closest trail access from that point) to the trail head at Springer Mountain. What shape is the trail in? And what is the water availability like. The trip is planned to start on Memorial day or the day before. Another question is, what is the trail conditions in the smokey mountains and what is the water availability like?I ask these questions, b/c I will be traveling with three nephews (one is 12 and the other two are 15 and 16) and I am thinking about attempting the hikes with VFFs instead of hiking boots. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Journal Entries

No one can tell you what the water situation will be like "this summer".
    Water does get scarce sometimes in summer in places
    It also gets very very hot sometimes too
    Put together, its not always a good combination

Quote Originally Posted by MuddyWaters View Post
    No one can tell you what the water situation will be like "this summer".
    Water does get scarce sometimes in summer in places
    It also gets very very hot sometimes too
    Put together, its not always a good combination
    That is what I am afraid of. I am originally from GA so I understand those southern summer droughts. Last April I took the boys on the Bartram Trail for spring break and we encountered a few dry spells, but most creeks were flowing pretty good. I am hoping that the first section will be ok in late May. Not sure about the smokey mountain section.

Images