WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Greetings from Germany

Hey, my name is Silke, I am from Berlin, Germany and I will hopefully hike the AT next year for about three weeks - of course with a dog. Its my dream since I first saw a documentation about the trail and becoming 50 next year, this will be my challenge snd maybe kind of a new beginning for the second part of my life. I am a newbie in hiking, not very trained, I own dogs but might adopt one in Atlanta before hiking the trail to go with me. I want to know and learn about almost EVERYTHING and I am also looking for a female hiking partner my age - with or without a dog! Nice to meet you all!

Welcome! I wish you lots of luck with your hike!

The only real advice I can give you is not to adopt a dog and then immediately start a trail with him/her. There are so many unknown factors when getting a new dog.

First, they don't always act the same "at home" as they do when you see them at a shelter. Dogs in shelters are under a lot of stress, beyond the actual being in the shelter surrounded by a bunch of strange(also equally nervous and barking dogs) they don't have a "person" there and the feeling alone/afraid will make them sort of "go into hiding in their shell." It can take a month after adopting a dog for them to get used to you and the new environment before they really act themselves. This isn't something you want to deal with on the trail, especially as a newbie when you will be dealing with so much of your own things trying this for the first time.