WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
    Registered User Different Socks's Avatar
    Images

Default Weird thoughts and questions while hiking for hours, days, weeks......

Non long distance hikers often ask me, "what do you think about while you're out there for all thos miles?"

I never really had a good answer. So I decided that for each long hike I do in the future, I will submit 1 weird thought or question at the end of each daily journal entry. I have been collecting these entries for several months, but one came up yesterday while I was hiking that seems to occur on every trail no matter where I do my hiking. You could say this first question was encountered during my 1992 AT thru hike. Here is the weird(or not so weird) question:

--If you are already higher in elevation than a place you have to cross( a river, RxR tracks, hwy, etc), why do the trail builders make you ascend even more before you descend to cross that feature? In other words, why do they make you go up to go down?

Here is a few more non trail related:

--If Hawaii is considered a vacation destination, then where do the local Hawaiians go on vacation?
    --If blood spills, what does it sound like?
    --Why is it that in science fiction stories or movies/TV shows, the first thing to stop working or get damaged on a ship is the hyper drive engines? And why don't they put strong shields around the hyper drive?
    --On Half and half cartons are there pictures of missing transvestites?
    --If a model puts out a book on dieting, would it be rather thin?
    --Is there really not a single word that rhymes with orange?
    --Why do people that drive to the gym circle round and round the parking lot to find the closest spot to the entrance to park?