WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Default Backpacker Magazine

I've been subscribing to Backpacker Magazine for a couple years now. If I was a new hiker, I would draw two conclusions about backpacking from their magazine: First, backpacking is extremely expensive; every piece of gear or clothing costs at least $300, regardless of what it is or what it does. Second, backpacking is extremely dangerous; hikers are always getting washed away in floods, struck by lightning, eaten by bears, falling off cliffs, bit by snakes, etc. Their local hike info is good, but they seem beholden to their advertisers at the expense of content. I bet you will never find an DIY alcohol stove article, or supermarket hiker-food article, cuz that might impact their advertisers. I sometimes feel like I'm reading a catalog instead of a hiking magazine. Ultimately, if backpacking is perceived as dangerous and expensive, there will be fewer backpackers. Is there a better magazine out there?

Nope, there isn't a Dirtbagger Magazine. BPer is as good as it gets in print, the articles on BackpackingLight.com are good though.

Images

whiteblaze is unavailable in print

Registered User Different Socks's Avatar
    Images