WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Bugs and Rain

Default Bugs and Rain

I am a noob thru hiker planning a thru in 2014. As a gut check hike I did three days on the Ozarks Highlands Trail in Arkansas. The first day I spent the entire day swatting gnats from my face and the second day it rained on me all day with tempratures dropping into the 40s in the afternoon. This made the trip a pretty miserable trip overall and I am concerned if this is what each day will be like on the trail.

Can anyone tell me how often you experience days like this on a thru hike? I know experiences vary but I would still like anyone's perspective.
    Thanks

no disrespect intended....if gnats and a day of rain bothered you enough to make your trip miserable you should probably pass on a htru
    "Any fool can criticize, condemn and complain -- and most fools do." Dale Carnegie

embrace the suck

GA-ME 2011
    Images

Hot, cold, rain, wind, snow, ice, gnats, black flies (far worse than gnats), mosquitoes.... It's something almost every day and when you're thru-hiking you don't get to pick the days you hike.

Welcome to the AT, enjoy your hike!
    "Chainsaw" GA-ME 2011

I think you misunderstand. I expect these days, but if they are every other day I have a problem. If they are once a week, that is a different story. I just have no idea how often you are hiking completely wet or with bugs so dense you can't even look at the trail. If they are every other day, then yes it probably isn't for me.

GA-ME 2011
    Images

Then you have a problem.

Really, its the great outdoors, this is all part of it.
    "Chainsaw" GA-ME 2011

A thru hike is 50% heaven and 50% hell.

And 2000 miles of pleasure.

You learn to laugh it off.
    The trouble I have with campfires are the folks that carry a bottle in one hand and a Bible in the other.