Default Solo summer hiker

Greetings fellow hiking ladies!

I'm new to white blaze and super excited about the fun hiking community it appears to offer! This is my first forum post.. Please play nice if I ask dumb questions

After this upcoming spring semester is finished (early May) I'm planning to close out my junior year of college with a NOBO hike on the AT. I realize it will be summer.. I'll be starting much later than most... And I'm not expecting to thru hike by any means... I'm simply hoping to spend my summer adventuring on the AT I'll go as far as I can and pick back up next summer..

My only goal is to enjoy myself, clear my mind, take lots of pictures, and remove myself from the city buzz and college stress. I have some experience hiking and camping, but I've never done anything quite like this! I realize it's quite an undertaking... But I feel as though I could burst with excitement for this journey. I'm looking for tips, secrets, or any lovely trail knowledge that you all have to offer! I'm an outdoorsy girl in general, preparing to hike fairly light.

Im also looking for a possible companion... My wonderful family and boyfriend don't quite share the urge to GET OUT AND HIKE! My father will start with me, but he isn't sure how far he will go. I hope to cover a good amount of ground, but I'm not running a marathon.. I'd love someone to pass the time with.. and just a girl I know will have my back, as I have hers.. We could hike together or a day or two apart.. I'd just enjoy some companionship while on the trail. It's been hard to find anyone beginning in the summer..

Can wait to make some friends on this lovely site (:
    Didge

Section Hiker