WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Thread: Poncho tarps

Default Poncho tarps

I'm new to the ultralight/lightweight scene but I have many years of backpacking experience. I'm curious as to what The opinion is on poncho tarps as shelter/rain gear. It seems to be the best multi-purpose gear item out there and will shave loads off my pack. I'm curious about the ease of setup/space/how to make them work with a bug net. I'm currently looking at the sea to summit ones. Thank you

-Duke

Been there, done that. My opinion - the worst of both worlds. It makes for a poor shelter and for poor rain gear.
    Follow slogoen on Instagram.

Would you recommend a regular tarp with another form of rain gear?

I would recommend a good tent and rain jacket.
    Follow slogoen on Instagram.

Images

If you want to try a tarp, get an 8x10 foot silnylon flat tarp and some Spectra cord for guy outs. Use trees or hiking poles and learn to set up in several different ways in your yard. This will weigh about a pound, and pitched well will provide good protection against most weather. I've used one in heavy storms and even in a blizzard. The larger size is more forgiving of errors in pitching.

A poncho tarp sounds great -- it replaces three separate items and only weighs 12 ounces. I certainly thought so at one point. But it's very small for a tarp and quite unforgiving in bad weather. And ponchos are great as rain gear until the wind picks up and they blow all over the place and you get soaked. Basically, they can work pretty well, but you're going to get wet and have to know how to deal with that.

Now that we have a wide selection of sub-two-pound tent shelters with floors and netting, which are very protective and easy to pitch, I find my poncho tarp is a lot less appealing.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Last edited by bigcranky; 04-29-2014 at 11:42.