WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Average miles

Default Average miles

I am a total newb to hiking other than here and there a few miles at a time. I was wondering how many miles an inexperienced person could expect to travel on a multi-day hike. I know there are a lot of variables, just looking for a ballpark average to start looking at routs.

6 -20, depending on how good of shape you are , weather, terrain... more then likely 6-10 miles

A lot depends on how heavy your pack is and what kind of shape you are in and how much hiking or running you do generally. Someone in shape may be able to handle 10+ miles a day, someone who is completely out of shape will struggle to do 5.

For the first couple of trips, figure about half as many as you can do on a dayhike; i.e. if you normally hike 12, plan on 6-8.

Quite impossible to say! I depends on your age and fitness, how much weight you're carrying, and what section of trail you're hiking.

The trail ranges from quite easy (in the mid-Atlantic, say Maryland) to quite difficult (Maine, New Hampshire.)

As a 55 year old carrying 30 lbs., I was able to hike consistent 15 mile days on the easier sections of the AT. As a 37 year old carrying 40+ lbs. I could barely maintain an 11 mile per day average.

Don't forget how averages work.... on very long hikes, folks want to take a day or half-day off every now and then.

Also time of year is a huge factor on how many hours per day you can hike. 1 1/2 mph is setting the bar pretty low.

Quote Originally Posted by lamarr View Post
    Also time of year is a huge factor on how many hours per day you can hike. 1 1/2 mph is setting the bar pretty low.
    Speak for yourself. 1.5 mph in the White Mountains or northern Long Trail is quite respectable, IMO.