Page 1 of 24 1 2 3 4 5 11 ... LastLast
    Images

Default Overweight Hikers

Ok, I am new to this hiking thing. Trailtalker got me into it. I want to know how hard this is going to be for an overweight woman to do.
    No fat jokes ok.....
    I aint morbidly obese but I carry alot of extra weight.

just don't push it too hard and injure yourself. i am always over weight when i start but in the best shape of my life when i'm done. the weight will come off, just walk and enjoy where you are and what you see.
    geek

Are you planning a thruhike, or just learning to enjoy hiking and backpacking?

In either case, being overweight means that you will want to start slowly. Don't get talked into doing big miles. If you push too hard you won't enjoy it and you'll give up. But if you take it slowly, you may find the pleasure in climbing mountains, looking at beautiful views, and visiting places that most people never see.

Your first few trips are going to be difficult - but then, they were difficult for most of us. You have to strengthen your muscles and knees and get your lungs used to breathing hard. Don't worry too much if it feels really hard at first - it will get easier as you gain conditioning. Midway through my first trip I almost turned back - and if I had I never would have continued to do the adventures that I have been lucky enough to experience. I was stopping every 50 yards. I hurt in every muscle in my body - and several I didn't know I had. Fortunately my stubbornness said, "One more day." I did and it was great. Still hurt - but I was able to see the beauty around me. The third day I spent several hours beside a running stream - and I got hooked. Still hurt - but I decided it was worth it.