WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Can't sleep with the ringing in the ears,whoo's got it"T"

Went to the doctors today,have had this ringing for years.He didn't have to tell me it was "Tinitis",my ears already knew.So what have you done about this? Did the audio screening thing,and now he wants some blood and maybe a MRI,sure is hard to sleep in the woods when all I hear is Riiiiiiiiiinging,any advice?

GA-ME 2011
    Images

I've had it for years, hazard of the job. Damn sirens.
    Some say vitamin B12 or B complex help. I just deal with it.
    As far as I know there's no treatment.
    "Chainsaw" GA-ME 2011

I was a professional diver for 3 years and did about 1k dives. Busted my left eardrum, and mine never stops ringing. I just try to ignore it, sometimes it's easier than others. If I'm at something loud like a concert or something, it is worse for a day or two and harder to ignore. I've had it since about 1988, so I guess I'm just used to it.

Quote Originally Posted by Don H View Post
    I've had it for years, hazard of the job. Damn sirens.
    Some say vitamin B12 or B complex help. I just deal with it.
    As far as I know there's no treatment.
    That is what the doctor said,the treatment is to somehow turn it off mentally with the help of something were supposed to talk about next time......thnks for the heads up and vit suggestions.

Hi...

Yes, I've got it too...from standing watches in shipboard engine rooms...two 1,200 HP diesels, plus a smaller one to run a generator. Unbelievable noise...!!

It's not yet to the point that it's that distracting...so whatever I happen to be involved in serves as a distraction from the tinnitis.

I've yet to hear of a "cure" for it.

What'd you say????