PDA

View Full Version : In Need of Sleeping Bag and Winter Clothing Advice!

brancaster
12-05-2013, 14:05
Hey everyone,

Because I'm newly registered to this forum (I've been poking around here for a while now), I'd like to extend my appreciation to everyone involved here. There is an incredible amount of valuable information all over this site, and I have not come across another community quite like this.

That being said, I do have a few questions of my own that I couldn't find answers to.

First off, I'm new to the idea of planning a thru-hiking. I'm not inexperienced in hiking/backpacking though! Thru-hiking the AT has always been something I wanted to do 'someday', but recently I decided that I would never actually accomplish it until I set a date and went through the motions of planning and stocking up on the gear I don't already have. I've chosen either 2015 or 2016 as my starting year (which ever aligns with my life and finances properly).

Now the questions that I have are mostly regarding the colder periods at the beginning and ending of the hike.

I want to make sure that I stay warm at night, but because I don't have the budget for top of the line or multiple pieces of the same gear, I'm looking to buy one sleeping bag and stick with it for the duration of the hike. I'd like to stay around the $200 mark. Judging from what I've read, I'll probably need a bag rated for 15-20 degree temperatures, right? Is it feasible to carry a bag with that temperature rating through the summer months? Also, what are your opinions on the ULA sleeping bag (http://www.ula-equipment.com/product_p/slpbg2012.htm)? I've seen mixed reviews across the web, but would love solid feedback from someone who has tried it. I also wouldn't mind any suggested alternatives!