PDA

View Full Version : Tarptent Contrail vs LightHeart SOlo

goody5534
12-07-2013, 20:24
Im ready to buy one or the other. I leaning towards the Contrail because of the "apparent" ease of setup as well as the additional 2 square feet of room... I am changing from a BA Copper Spur UL1... Any suggestions advice?

bfayer
12-07-2013, 20:45
Im ready to buy one or the other. I leaning towards the Contrail because of the "apparent" ease of setup as well as the additional 2 square feet of room... I am changing from a BA Copper Spur UL1... Any suggestions advice?

Lightheart has better ventilation options, less condensation issues, and when the weather allows much better views. Tarptent makes a great product, you really can't go wrong with either.

Tuckahoe
12-07-2013, 20:48
I have no experience with the Tarptent Contrail, but Tarptent has a good reputation. I have owned the Lightheart Gear Solo and I was very happy with it. I think you find in fact that the Solo is the larger of the two -- 30sqft vs 21sqft -- at only 2.5 ounces more than the listed weight of the Contrail.

I found that with the Solo, there was plenty of room for myself and my gear with room to spare. Plenty of room to sit up and I found the position of the tent's headroom ideal; I could sit right up without rubbing against the tent body. I also found the Solo quick and easy to set up. And I really prefered the side entry over that of a front entry tent.

I think that you would be well served with either tent. I have since moved on to a hammock, but I would pick the LHG Solo again.

Bags4266
12-07-2013, 21:41
What I don't like about my contrail is the forward entry. Space and weight is great

10-K
12-07-2013, 21:50
That's a coin flipper.

One difference (I think) is that the Contrail can be setup as a freestanding tent.

hpowers
12-07-2013, 23:27
Out of curiosity, why are you ditching the BA?

Firefighter503
12-08-2013, 00:57
That's a coin flipper.