PDA

View Full Version : DSLR on Thru Hike! Anyone?

Towhee
12-11-2013, 14:04
Planning my thru-hike, departing for Springer on March 25. I studied video production, and would love to document my adventure. I understand that this plan may fall through if the added weight throws me off, but I can always send gear home. However, this is something I really want to try.

I was wondering if anybody has had any success on carrying the extra weight of a DSLR on a THRU HIKE. Section hikers - I value your input, but would like to hear from anybody who has thru hiked completely with a DSLR setup.

I'm planning to take a Canon T3i with a 18-135mm lens.

Anyway - does anybody have any slinging setup that they would recommend? Quick access to camera? Waterproofing? Can it actually be done? Thanks everybody, this forum has been so helpful.

Also - looking into lightweight fluid head tripod options to carry along. PLEASE save the negative comments - I completely understand the amount of excess weight that will add. I'm willing to try and if it sucks, send her home. If anyone has any suggestions on a setup, that would be great. If not, disregard the tripod question.

Cro-Mag
12-11-2013, 14:46
I completed a thruhike this past year. I saw one thruhiker carrying a DSLR camera (Nikon). I did not see her past NC, but I know she finished. I assume she carried it the entire way. She would sling the camera around her neck, just like if you were walking around the city with no pack on.

Kata makes some unique bags that you might look at. They also have a "quick release" bag that I've seen demoed. http://www.kata-bags.us/photo-by-carrying-type-holsters

I work in video/film production, and was very interested in documenting my hike. I chose to go with a lightweight, point and shoot with full manual options. Unfortunately, the camera broke right after the Smokies (my fault the camera broke :mad:)