PDA

View Full Version : seeking suggestions for good camera for upcoming AT thru hike

DavidNH
08-27-2005, 21:41
Hello,

I plan to attempt a south tonorth thru hike of the AT starting late next march. I would like to be able to take photos along the way..hence need for a camera.

I would want something that is light as possible (under a pound) easy to use, durable and reliable. I am thinking digitial. I have no experience with digital photography but with film cameras one can be sure to run out of film at the worst time (Muphy's law). Can one carry enough of those memory chips to last a whole hike?

While I want something inexpensive (if only!) and simple (ie a point and shoot type) ..I amnot interested in some el cheapo camera.

Any suggestions on camera type/models to look at? How much would I have to spend?

also...should I go with a digital camera or do you think film is better?

I am by no means pro and don't want to fuss with all the techie stuff.. just want good memories in pictures!!

nhhiker

MedicineMan
08-27-2005, 21:52
http://www.h20camera.com/index.jsp

you could pop a 2gb SD card in it and have room for a gazillion photos or half a gazillion photos and video but the best part is not having to worry about water at all...
the down of this camera is no optical viewfinder which the older Optio 43WR had and speaking of you might find of of them on ebay (new, maybe an overstock item a vendor is trying to unload).....good luck on your camera choice and your hike...

Whistler
08-28-2005, 00:49
I think you'll find that most people tend to love the digital camera that they have.

In my case, it's the Fuji FinePix A330. Very simple, has all the function I need for 6.5oz or so with batteries. I don't use the LCD screen, always preferring the optical viewfinder when possible. On my last trip I took about 300 photos on 1 set of lithium AAs on a 256M memory card, on the 3M picture quality setting.

I think I got mine on sale for $120 or so.
-Mark

C'est La Vie