PDA

View Full Version : Where are re-filling points?

dlar9612
12-16-2013, 12:17
So I recently decided I want to hike the Appalachian Trail, and I'm finding out what to get as far as gear goes OK, but I'm having a problem... WHERE ARE THE REFILL POINTS!? And if you know how many days apart are they? I'm a complete noob about the Trail so any friendly tips you have will be much appreciated! :banana

Bags4266
12-16-2013, 12:24
If your planning a 2014 nobo trip you have a lot to learn in a little time. You should read and research this web site pick up some books. There is a lot to absorb. As far as your question goes you can resupply just about every three days. The trail crosses over many roads most of which will get you to a small town to "re-fill"

Deer Hunter
12-16-2013, 12:28
See if this helps.

http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/content.php?15-resupply

FarmerChef
12-16-2013, 12:28
Are you referring to food or fuel or both? Food you can reliable get every 3-5 days (sometime less, sometimes more) along almost the full length of the trail. You may need a shuttle, cab ride, hitch or trail angel to get you to some of those points but it's not hard. Fuel is usually available where the food is and often is available where food is not (at hostels with no or limited resupply, hardware stores, some gas stations, etc.). Alcohol is more easily available than canister fuel at some of the one off places.

hikerboy57
12-16-2013, 12:41
its not that complicated.get one of the guides, either the at guide or the companion. both have excellent resupply information. when you get to one resupply point, you can figure out how long to the next resupply.,usually 3-5 days.the first week you usually carry too much food, so it takes a few weeks to figure out how much to carry between resupply points. you'll figure it out as you go along. unless you have some unusual dietary needs, you do not need to plan drop boxes.

ChinMusic
12-16-2013, 12:52