PDA

View Full Version : Blogs, Twitter, and Books

Waitin 4 my trl name
12-17-2013, 22:38
Hello Hikers,

I am brand new to WhiteBlaze (though I have spent time lurking around the past four weeks or so) and I have to say I am very impressed with the content and camaraderie that I am finding in this community.

I am also (semi) brand new to the hiking scene. I've not done anything other than long day hikes or had a serious pack on my back since my early teens, which is too many years ago to talk about.

Thru-hiking the AT has been a dream of mine since I was 8 years old, and now that I am living within a couple of hours of the southern terminus, that dream is being rekindled. (I've even started up a blog to write about the journey to, hopefully, fulfill that dream in the coming years: http://stephenchristianson.com/ - and you can find a bit out more about me here: http://stephenchristianson.com/about/ -it is new so not much posted yet.)

As I jump into the fray here, I wanted to start out asking about three things as I begin to research this journey:

Are there any recommended blogs/sites (outside of WhiteBlaze) that I should visit/follow?
I have also started playing with twitter and would love to follow any of you that are regular "tweeters"
If I could only read three books in regards to hiking the AT (either section or thru) what would they be?

My apologies if I was a bit long winded, just a bit excited to throw myself out there with everyone.

Uncle Walkie
12-17-2013, 23:33
"average people, extraordinary trail" by Mark Allen. Excellent read, combines advice on planning, prepartation with a great narrative of his journey. If I had to recommend one book that would be it

Waitin 4 my trl name
12-18-2013, 08:21
"average people, extraordinary trail" by Mark Allen

Thanks for the recommendation. Will check it out.

Turk6177
12-18-2013, 10:02