PDA

View Full Version : "New+Old" Sections of Benton MacKaye Trail

C-Stepper
08-29-2005, 08:41
I just completed my first "long" trail...the Foothills Trail in SC. I'm trying to plan my next foray...I'm stuck between the Pinhoti and the BMT, but I'm leaning toward BMT (for the views).

Has anyone here hiked the whole BMT? I understand (from another thread) the BMT was recently extended to Davenport Gap. I would hike this in at least 2 sections, possible 3 sections (due to job/family constraints). I'm thinking the "older" section I could do this winter, and leave the "newer" section, which I'm assuming would be higher elevation, for next spring/summer.

I'm a novice backpacker, so I'm concerned about having a well-defined trail. I don't want to get lost!

If you hiked, which guide did you use (if any)? Are any guides out yet other than from the association (which doesn't appear quite complete)? No trail journals yet that I could find...has anyone read one you could point me to? Any other info you could provide?

Edited to also ask: I couldn't find any info on shuttles...any ideas, as I'm a solo hiker and rely on a drive to get me to the trailhead?

http://www.bmta.org/trail_section_descriptions.htm

The Solemates
08-29-2005, 09:13
I just completed my first "long" trail...the Foothills Trail in SC. I'm trying to plan my next foray...I'm stuck between the Pinhoti and the BMT, but I'm leaning toward BMT (for the views).

Has anyone here hiked the whole BMT? I understand (from another thread) the BMT was recently extended to Davenport Gap. I would hike this in at least 2 sections, possible 3 sections (due to job/family constraints). I'm thinking the "older" section I could do this winter, and leave the "newer" section, which I'm assuming would be higher elevation, for next spring/summer.

I'm a novice backpacker, so I'm concerned about having a well-defined trail. I don't want to get lost!