PDA

View Full Version : Help with choosing a backpack

Gabby Pulsinelli
12-31-2013, 18:33
Hi everyone!

So I am just getting into hiking and I am looking into getting a good backpack that I can use for 5-7 days. My first major hike will be this summer on the AT.

Does anyone have suggestions for where to buy from or specific models?

Thanks,
Gabby

RED-DOG
12-31-2013, 19:32
The best way to find,choose a back pack is to go in to a outdoor store that way you can ask the sales man questions look at the different models and sizes, touch them, put some weight in them and carry it around ( try several different models and sizes ), never buy a pack from a Catalogue, the one i used on my thru in 2012 is the Mountain hardwear, Direttssima 46, very comfortable, fits me like a glove, can't say enough good things about it. but like i said you have to try SEVERAL different models and sizes, and:welcome to WB. GOOD LUCK and HAPPY HIKING. RED-DOG

rangeley
12-31-2013, 19:37
Hey Gabby I've use an Osprey Atmos 50 and a ULA Circuit. The Osprey was great, totally bombproof and comfortable as all get out. They sell a woman specific version called the Aura. Osprey also has a lot of other pack lines which might be worth checking out. I'm sure they're all the same awesome quality. The ULA Circuit is also a great pack! I haven't had it long, but it seems to be bombproof, and is nice and light. I like the design with the big mesh pocket, and the readily accessible water bottle pocket. I picked up the Circuit, because I wanted another pack with more volume, and I wanted to support an American company. ULA has some other packs, both bigger and smaller to check out.
These are the only packs I have experience with, and I wish you well on your future backpacking shenanigans

Coffee
12-31-2013, 20:25