PDA

View Full Version : Getting Started??

tolowo80
01-21-2014, 05:48
Hello all, Im new here.. A fellow hiker living in MD near Annapolis rock section.. Ive been dreaming of thru-hiking the AT for several years now, but unfortunately I didn't do it in my 20's when I had the time and freedom, because I didn't know anything about thru-hiking the AT, and now in my 30's, with a career in IT ( with a job I don't like) and newly married, not having the freedom to pack up and go, I feel that this dream will just be that.. a dream. So Im asking / looking to those thru-hikers with families and those who are stuck on the 9-5 grind, how they were able to break away and be able to thru-hike?? things that come to mind are how am I going to pay for bills, car loan, mortgage etc... I added everything up and it would need almost $10K to cover bills while im gone for 6months (not including money needed for food and lodging while hiking). Ive considered selling my Jeep, but a mortgage is something I cant ditch.. Ive spoke to my wife about it and she says she supports the idea, but says I need to come up with a way to cover the bills while gone. Maybe my dreams of thru-hiking are irresponsible or reckless (some family members and coworkers see it this way), but I feel there is more to life than being stuck on the hamster wheel. Any advice, thoughts, suggestion would be greatly appreciated..

Meriadoc
01-21-2014, 07:39
That is how you do it: save for the bills, for the thru hike, and for reentry into the working world. I don't have it on hand at the moment but check out minimalism and year long travel blogs. They all share the same principles. One nice one that I picked up and use is setting an amount of cash to use each month. After the cash is gone it is gone and I am not allowed to spend anymore until the next month rolls around.

4shot
01-21-2014, 08:28