PDA

View Full Version : hawk mountain to harper's ferry - how to resupply?

ZoSo
09-05-2005, 01:50
if you read my other recent post, you know that i'm new to any sort of distance hiking. but im planning a solo trip from hawk mtn to harper's ferry. i'm going to be leaving in the next day or so.

but i wanted to get some opinions on how i should handle resupplying. please tell me if you think this is a good approach (remember, im new to this):

1. leave hawk mtn with 4 days supply of food
2. stop in pine grove to resupply (39 miles). leave with 5 day supply
3. stop in duncannon to resupply (49 miles). leave with 6 day supply
4. stop in mt holly springs to resupply (65 miles). leave with 5 day supply
5. finish in harper's ferry (59 miles)

i know it's a little conservative, but do you think im making too many stops? i know some people stop almost everyday and some barely ever stop, but 4-5 days seems reasonable for me. although if i start making good time, it could turn into every 3-4 days.

one other question, for those familiar with the area. reading the elevation profile for the part of the trail between the eckville shelter and windsor furnace sheltor i noticed it said "watershed area-- no camping or fires" is that for real, can you not camp for that entire 5 mile ridge?

thanks! :)

DuctTape
09-06-2005, 01:42
Your plan looks pretty good to me... I'm assuming you're buying your food along the way, which is what I would recommend. You're absolutely right, it's best to plan your days and mileage conservatively... especially if you're new to backpacking. Aside from your first stop at Pine Grove, I don't think this is too much to worry about at this point. I always liked to plan one town stop at a time. By the time you hit Duncannon you'll know exactly what you need to make it to the next resupply point... and so on.