PDA

View Full Version : Budgeting!

threepointrest
01-24-2014, 14:19
Money is a scary thing :(

I'm a high school senior, and I'm planning an AT thru-hike for after graduation- Hoping to start in Feb 2015

After doing a bit of research, I've come up with a rough budget.

Budget:
The AT is ~2200 miles long. I'm hoping to average 12 miles/day (accounting for break days, etc), so it should take about 183 days total.

$10/day for food = 183 x 10 = 1830
20% of food budget for trail expenses (fuel, etc.) = 1830 x 1.2 = 2196
$100 per night, allowing for a night in town every 2 weeks = 2196 + (183 / 14 x 100) = 2966
$1000 for gear = 2966 + 1000 = 3966
$300 for emergency/medical = 3966 + 300 = 4266

Total: $4266

Obviously as a high school student, I don't have to worry about making up for money not earned during the trip, nor do I have to worry about getting taxes in on time or other aspects of the "grown up world."

Based on your experience, is this accurate? Realistic?
Also, any tips on coming up with that money would be greatly appreciated... I currently have a little less than $200 saved up, which is hardly a drop in the bucket. I'm applying for summer jobs now, but would like to get as much of the funds as I can before then.

Thank you!

Hill Ape
01-24-2014, 14:33
not including gear, on trail costs average a little above $1000 per month, puely unscientific number, like all internet stats. plenty of people have made an art form of dirtbagging, and the people for whom money isn't a concern (trust fund types) can easily spend more

money is hands down the number one reason people drop off

perrymk
01-24-2014, 14:43
Also, any tips on coming up with that money would be greatly appreciated... I currently have a little less than $200 saved up, which is hardly a drop in the bucket. I'm applying for summer jobs now, but would like to get as much of the funds as I can before then.